Technology

WhatsApp Is Getting A New Update That Might Be Very Bad News For Some People

WhatsApp Is Getting A New Update That Might Be Very Bad News For Some People

Messaging service WhatsApp is getting a new update that will change how the app handles deleted messages.

Previously when a user deleted a message for everyone in a chat WhatsApp would continue to try and delete that message for all users, no matter how long it took. However the change has added a limit to that.

The server will now try and delete the message for just thirteen hours, eight minutes and sixteen seconds. So why is this bad? Because it may mean messages you thought were deleted might not be.

WhatsApp Is Getting A New Update That Might Be Very Bad News For Some People

Getty

For example, you accidentally send a fruity message to someone by accident. If they receive that message and then switch off their phone before you delete it WhatsApp will only try to remove it for just under 14 hours.

If the message had never been delivered then it would be deleted from the WhatsApp server instead, causing no issues.

But there could be times when you have second thoughts about a message but can't remove it.

The new feature is thought to be a protection against people deleting really old messages from threads.

The "delete for all" functionality was introduced last year and at the time offered the opportunity to delete messages up to seven minutes after they were sent.

Facebook is testing a brand new feature that will allow you to UNSEND messages

An update earlier this year extended that time to one hour, eight minutes and sixteen seconds after it was sent.

WhatsApp is also rumoured to be adding adverts to the Status section of the app, which operates in much the same way Instagram Stories do.